Silver Lining

“Every cloud has a silver lining” would be an appropriate description for this image.  I was thinking this exact phrase when I saw the sun beginning to peak through the clouds – along with some blue sky too.  This was the first sunshine after several days of rain.  Then another phrase came to my mind also.  This phrase was from the song “Put on a happy face”, and the part that really stood out in my memory was “Gray skies are going to clear up”.  I looked up the lyrics to the song and have included them below.

I’m so glad that I am able to put on a “happy face” most all the time.  I’m even more glad that I don’t have to “put” it on.  It just seems to come out naturally.  I could probably go on and on about the many things that produce this happiness, but I won’t right now.  There are however a couple of verses from the Bible that come to mind, even though I think I could struggle to remember them during “gray sky” periods.  I pray that I look up when things look down.

Check out  Romans 8:28 or 2 Corinthians 12:9 or Galatians 5:22.  I even did a quick search, and found another that I like – 1 Peter 1:6.

Here are the lyrics to the song:

Gray skies are gonna clear up,
Put on a happy face;
Brush off the clouds and cheer up,
Put on a happy face.

Take off the gloomy mask of tragedy,
It’s not your style;
You’ll look so good that you’ll be glad
Ya’ decide to smile!
Pick out a pleasant outlook,
Stick out that noble chin;
Wipe off that “full of doubt” look,
Slap on a happy grin!
And spread sunshine all over the place,
Just put on a happy face!
Put on a happy face
Put on a happy face

And if you’re feeling cross and bitterish
Don’t sit and whine
Think of banana split and licorice
And you’ll feel fine
I knew a girl so glooming
She’d never laugh or sing
She wouldn’t listen to me
Now she’s a mean old thing
So spread sunshine all over the place
Just put on a happy face
So, put on a happy face

Cloudy Day PortraitBe sure to click on the image for a larger view.  Taken in the morning on September 28, 2010.

©Bryant Altizer Photography
Leaves are changing already.  Need an Autumn portrait? Contact me.
Leave a Reply

