Lightning Storm Marathon

I could hardly believe the lightning storm that we had here yesterday (May 26, 2011).  It started out quite small, around 8:50 pm.  By 9:30, the interval between flashes was about 1 minute, and the thunder booms were becoming a bit disturbing for my daughter Hannah and a friend of hers who was staying the night.  After quite a while of this, I decided it was time to open the door and see if I could see any of the “bolts”.  As soon as I opened the door, I saw a quick bolt of lighting across the river and immediately heard the loudest boom of the night (so far).  I quickly grabbed my camera, and decided to try to capture a few.  Now, thinking that and actually succeeding at it are two different things entirely.  I patiently waited, and continued to shoot each time any amount of lightning flash occurred.  After about 15 minutes, I finally captured one.  I continued to shoot for almost 45 minutes, and shot over 500 images.  I was able to get quite a few, but MANY of them were only partial bolts, lit-up sky, or even nothing at all.  Below are a few of the ones that I did capture.  The last shot at the bottom is of the neighbor’s house, taken at 10:00 pm, and it almost looks like it is daytime.  Pretty cool.  The lightning marathon continued to almost midnight, lasting about 3 hours.  Enjoy, and let me know which one you like best.

Portrait Lighting

Portrait Lighting

 Portrait Lighting

Portrait Lighting

©Bryant Altizer Photography

Good portraits capture the light. Contact me.
Leave a Reply

